The Winners of the 2021 Laureus World Sports Awards have been unveiled at a digital awards ceremony from Seville, Spain. Among the highlights were a fourth Laureus Award for Rafael Nadal and second Laureus Award for Naomi Osaka and the Bayern Munich football team. Lewis Hamilton was recognised for his social activism, and Liverpool FC’s Mo Salah received the Laureus Sporting Inspiration Award.
2021 Laureus World Sports Awards Winners
Laureus World Sportsman of the Year                  Rafael Nadal
Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year             Naomi Osaka
Laureus World Team of the Year                            Bayern Munich
Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year              Patrick Mahomes
Laureus World Comeback of the Year                   Max Parrot
Laureus Sport for Good Award                               KICKFORMORE by KICKFAIR
Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award                    Billie Jean King
Laureus Athlete Advocate of the Year Award        Lewis Hamilton
Laureus Sporting Inspiration Award                       Mohamed Salah
Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year Award        Chris Nikic
Celebrating the power of sport to change the world | Laureus

Host City

Seville, the capital of Andalusia, captures the essence of Spanish culture, art and passion, will announce winners of the 22nd Laureus World Sports Awards, the most prestigious honours in sport on May 6. The Awards Show will be a ‘virtual’ ceremony, honouring the most memorable sporting performances of 2020 and recognising the wider impact on society made by athletes during the year.
Read More

I am so honoured to be in this room. I’ve been inspired by so many of you over the course of my career. Sport has a unique opportunity to change people in ways they never expected. Thank you all so much for your respect.

Lindsey Vonn celebrates the Laureus Spirit of Sport Award 2019

This is one of the greatest honours. It’s like winning a gold medal. Laureus is one of the biggest awards for me. I am in great company. To win four is special.

Usain Bolt winning his fourth Sportsman of the Year Award 2017